Gate To Southwell Festival returns to Nottinghamshire for its thirteenth incarnation 6th–9th June 2019.

Gate To Southwell Festival 2019 Preview

Expect over fifty artists appearing over what promises to be another fabulous weekend featuring a fine array of international folk, roots, acoustic, and world music performers. GTSF is nothing if not diverse with everything from a dedicated Americana opening night headlined by Los Pacaminos (featuring Paul Young), to a special celebration of the Woodstock Festival 50th anniversary including a specially created 'house' band and guests performing classics from that most famous of gatherings. There are artists appearing from all over the planet throughout the weekend, and the international theme continues with a European concert led by Korrontzi and BOC from Spain on festival Sunday. Other acclaimed acts will also be gracing the four main stages including Steve Harley & Cockney Rebel, Skipinnish, Otway & Barrett, Sam Kelly & The Lost Boys, Calan, Nancy Kerr, and Blackbeard’s Tea Party.

The music is not the half of GTSF of course, with dance sides appearing from all around the country (and featuring in the traditional procession though nearby Southwell on Saturday), plus plenty of ceilidh action and workshops, as well as comedy and spoken word. GTSF also provides subsidised transport between the festival site and nearby Southwell town throughout the weekend to enjoy the beautiful town and sessions around the streets and pubs.

There are a variety of ticket options available including the full four-day camping, or short weekend, day and evening. Check availability HERE.

Our FFA Reviewers can’t wait to be in them there Nottinghamshire fields. It all promises to be rather special.

Gate to Southwell Festival 2019 Line Up

Steve Harley & Cockney Rebel, Los Pacaminos feat. Paul Young, Sam Kelly & the Lost Boys, Skipinnish, Blue Rose Code, Nancy Kerr, Gordie MacKeeman & His Rhythm Boys (Canada), Korrontzi (Spain), Dinamo (Spain), Sarah Savoy Band (France), Otway & Barrett , Calan, Blue Summit (USA),  JigJam (Ireland), Jim Causley, 3 Daft Monkeys, Greg Russell & Ciaran Algar, Grace Petrie, Jessica Pearson & The East Wind (Canada), Katie Spencer,  Hotel Palindrone (Austria), Sam Kelly & Ruth Notman, SYA (Netherlands)  Hickory Signals, Truckstop Honeymoon (USA), Blackbeard’s Tea Party, Alden Patterson & Dashwood, Ruth Notman, Rosenblume, Ranagri,  Flossie Malavialle (France), Maniere des Bohemiens, Kim Edgar, The Activators,  Keith Donnelly, Bird in the Belly, Sunjay, Morrissey & Marshall (Ireland), Dark Horses, Joshua Cook (USA), The Jig Doctors, The Hunch Lizzy Hardingham, Sam Brothers, Clarke Camilleri + more.

Article by Barrie Dimond